treebroker.blogg.se

Install mamp on mac for wordpress 2017
Install mamp on mac for wordpress 2017




  1. #Install mamp on mac for wordpress 2017 how to
  2. #Install mamp on mac for wordpress 2017 mac os x

just google “XAMPP WordPress theme install problem” or something like that and you’ll see what I mean.

#Install mamp on mac for wordpress 2017 how to

That’s just my experience mind you – but it is worth noting that it’s so common that there are several sites/blog posts whose sole topic is how to fix this issue. I won’t go into details – but suffice it to say I ended up thinking “why bother?” and just went back to MAMP. The main problem (only problem actually) I had with XAMPP was that it had issues on OS X with file and folder permissions.ĭoing something as simple as installing new Themes using the WordPress online interface proved nearly impossible – in the end it required changing permissions on some of the Apache configuration files in the XAMPP dir. 2:Īfter using both to develop some WordPress sites locally on my mac I chose to go with MAMP. I went with XAMPP in the end because I needed the dba extension. Unlike XAMPP, MAMP works without administrator privileges. But for a development system that doesn’t count much. On the other hand MAMP looks a little more mac-like and has a Dashboard Widget. XAMPP gets updated more regularly and is generally more up to date. Neither touch your default OS X Apache/PHP! You can just try them both out and remove them afterwards by just deleting their folders. PS: Eventually I would use the default installation of Apache and PHP, and install a binary package of MySQL but time for development is an essence and I don’t have time to familiarize myself with Mac OS X. Would MAMP or XAMPP modify the existing Apache and PHP installation? Any comments on how I should proceed?

#Install mamp on mac for wordpress 2017 mac os x

As far as I know, Mac OS X comes with Apache2 and PHP5. Does anybody have any suggestions? The Pro and Cons I suppose.

install mamp on mac for wordpress 2017

The question is whether I should go with MAMP or XAMPP. However, I am not quite ready to be playing around with the system at this point so having an external package would be a nice temporary solution I think. Since Mac OS X is based on Unix, I was thinking on activating/installing all the necessary stuff as I would normally do on Linux. I am used to using XAMPP as my local development server on XP. I just bought a new MacBook Pro which comes with Snow Leopard 10.6.2 (Mac OS X 10.6.2).






Install mamp on mac for wordpress 2017